Bell re-elected to fourth term as House majority leader

Goldsboro News Argus

The N.C. House Republican Caucus unanimously reelected Rep. John Bell of Goldsboro as majority leader for the 2023-2024 legislative session.

Bell, who won his sixth two-year term in the House on Nov. 8, was first elected majority leader in 2016. Bell, a Republican, represents Wayne, Greene and Johnston counties in District 10.

“I am very grateful to have the continued support and trust of my Republican colleagues to serve as their Majority Leader,” Bell said.

“I am excited to get back to work and help lead our caucus to another successful legislative session that makes North Carolina an even better place to live, work and raise a family.”

The majority leader leads the direction of the caucus and represents the entire Republican caucus across the state.

Bell’s duties include working with caucus members, including calling caucuses to keep members informed of what is going on if anything were to come up or if the governor calls the legislature back into session.

Bell will represent the Republican caucus whether it is speaking at an event or traveling across the state helping members.

The House Republican Caucus also elected other leaders Friday including Speaker of the House Tim Moore, R-Cleveland; Speaker Pro Tempore Rep. Sarah Stevens, R-Surry; Deputy Majority Leader Rep. Brenden Jones, R-Columbus; Majority Whip Rep. Jon Hardister, R-Guilford; Conference Chair Rep. Jason Saine, R-Lincoln; and Joint Caucus Chair Rep. Harry Warren, R-Rowan.

The General Assembly will convene on Jan. 11.